Nominate for the BSFA Awards

Round 2 of Nominations for works published in 2016 is now open.

Thank you to all our members for nominating in the first round of our nominations process. We now enter the second round of nominations.

From 7th January to midnight on 31st January  members can choose their shortlist from the collated nominations.
Your choices will not be made public, and you are restricted to four choices per category. These are drawn from the first round of nominations made by BSFA members and make up our long list.
You will find the ballot form via a link here.
And the long list is indicated via this link also, where you will find links to most of the nominated short fiction, non-fiction and artwork pieces (where available).

What are the BSFA Awards? The BSFA awards are presented annually by the British Science Fiction Association, based on a vote of BSFA members and – in recent years – members of the British national science fiction convention Eastercon. They are fan awards that not only seek to honour the most worthy examples in each category, but to promote the genre of science fiction, and get people reading, talking about and enjoying all that contemporary science fiction has to offer. Who can choose?  You may choose a work if YOU:

  • Are a member of the BSFA


  • Make your choices by midnight 31st January.

What are the categories? The Best Novel award is open to any novel-length work of science fiction or fantasy that has been published for the first time in the UK or Ireland, or works published solely in e-book format (Serialised novels are eligible, provided that the publication date of the concluding part is in the year of eligibility). The Best Short Fiction award is open to any shorter work of science fiction or fantasy, up to and including novellas (40,000 words or under), first published in  the year of eligibility (in a magazine, in a book, in audio format, or any electronic or web-based format). The Best Artwork award is open to any single science fictional or fantastic image that first appeared in the eligible year. Again, provided the artwork hasn’t been published before the year of eligibility it doesn’t matter where it appears. The Best Non-Fiction award is open to any written work about science fiction and/or fantasy which appeared in its current form in the year of eligibility. Whole collections comprised entirely of unrevised work that has been published elsewhere previous to the year of eligibility are ineligible.

  • Choices are restricted to four per category.
  • Until January 31st of the following year, members may choose from nominations made so far to draw up a shortlist in each category.
  • A minimum of three choices will be required for a work to be included on the ballot; if there are fewer than three works achieving this level of support, the category will not be awarded.
  • You may not make multiple choices for a single work.
  • Please do not choose your own work.