Birmingham Independent Book Fair Saturday 12th April

The Birmingham Independent Book Fair takes place this weekend at the Ikon Gallery in Birmingham. This is a day-long event (doors open at 11.00 am) and features independent publishers from the West Midlands and beyond.
Alchemy Press have been in touch to tell us about the works they are showcasing there. Peter Coleborn says:

“Merry-Go-Round and Other Words is the definitive collection of work by the South Wales poet and writer Bryn Fortey. The book includes a warm introduction by Johnny Mains plus an afterword by Bryn, in which he discusses some of the stories included in the book. We are certain you will all want a copy of this collection gracing your shelves.

“We shall also have copies of Rod Rees’s book Invent-10n in both paperback and hard-cover, limited editions! If you missed the launch last December now is your chance to race down to Birmingham and grab a copy.

“In preparing for the book fair we “unearthed” a few copies of the late Joel Lane-edited anthology, Beneath the Ground. We’re pretty sure that these are all the remaining copies in Alchemy Towers. We also came across a handful of Shadows of Light and Dark by award-winning poet Jo Fletcher. This collection of poems includes an introduction by Neil Gaiman plus art and photography by Les Edwards and Seamus Ryan. The book is signed and numbered by all contributors (including the book’s designer Michael Marshall Smith).

Other Alchemy Press titles available include Astrologica: Stories of the Zodiac, The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes (volumes 1 and 2), The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic and Doors to Elsewhere.”

Other publishers set to appear at the festival include:

Twin Books www.twinbooks.co.uk/ 

Fringeworks www.fringeworks.co.uk/

Flarestack Poets www.flarestackpoets.co.uk 

William Gallagher http://williamgallagher.com/ 

Boo Books http://boobooks.net/ 

Pigeon Park Press www.pigeonparkpress.com 

Cinnamon Press www.cinnamonpress.com 

Silhouette Press www.silhouettepress.co.uk 

Cannon Poets www.cannonpoets.org.uk 

Shadow Publishing http://www.shadowpublishing.webeasysite.co.uk/index.html

TJB Press http://tombrysonwriter.wordpress.com 

Offa’s Press www.offaspress.co.uk 

Black Pear Press www.blackpear.net 

The Alchemy Press www.alchemypress.co.uk 

Ellie Stevenson http://elliestevenson.wordpress.com 

Nine Arches Press www.ninearches.press.com 

Gingernut Books www.gingernutbooks.co.uk/sophie-sparham.html 

Crowded Quarantine www.crowdedquarantine.com 

Foxwell Press www.facebook.com/FoxwellPress

Fair Acre Press www.fairacrepress.co.uk 

Five Seasons Press www.fiveseasonspress.com 

The Cassowary Press www.casspress.com

Location: The Ikon Gallery, Oozells Street, Brindley Place, Birmingham, B1 2HS

April 12 @ 11:00 am – 5:00 pm

****

Alchemy Press also took the opportunity to remind us they have a submissions window closing at the end of this month for their other 2014 anthologies: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes 3, edited by Mike Chinn, and The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic 2, edited by Jan Edwards and Jenny Barber. So, get your stories polished up and send them in!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Donna Scott. Bookmark the permalink.

About Donna Scott

Chair of the BSFA since June 2013. Prior to this I was Awards Administrator, taking over that role from Claire Briarley in 2008. I am officially Donna Bond since getting married in May 2013, but continue to write and perform under my previous name, Donna Scott. My short fiction stories have been published in various anthologies and magazines, and I was winner of the inaugural Short Cuts at the MAC in 2005. As a comedian, I have performed all over the UK. Comedy has also given me the opportunity to perform alongside big names like Sarah Millican and Jasper Carrott! As a poet, I've also performed all over the place, including lots of science fiction conventions, and sometimes my poetry and comedy get kind of mixed up. I was the first official Bard of Northampton, it's true. I've got a tankard that says so... I love being a part of the BSFA - I've always been a devourer of books and being part of this association has enabled me to explore some great science fiction classics - and classics of the future, that I might otherwise have not heard about. I've met some lovely people with an enthusiasm for the genre, made firm friends, and got to meet some of my favourite writers, too! As a writer, I also have to say that FOCUS is the best magazine for writers I've ever come across - and as a member I get that for free. Who wouldn't want to be a part of this?

Leave a Reply